User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.


These posts have been archived and can no longer be replied to or modified.
  Print Thread
Standard User kathburton
(newbie) Mon 04-Oct-10 18:32:41
Print Post

Anybody with a @btconnect.com email - BE WARNED!


[link to this post]
 
Hello everyone,

First post here but I thought I should register to warn everybody about what has just happened to me!

I run a small artwork shop online and use a btconnect.com email address. Today a customer said that they sent me a payment, so i checked my Paypal account and there was nothing in there.

So I contacted my customer again saying that there must have been a mistake as I had not received the payment, but they was adiment that I'd not only received it but had also ACCEPTED it too!

I asked for a screenshot of the payment and then I saw the problem....they had sent the payment to kath****@btconnect.co

Notice the lack of 'm' on 'com'? BUT YET THE PAYMENT WAS ACCEPTED.

So i sent an email to kath****@btconnect.co with tracking and read receipt enabled and not only was it DELIVERED but it also got READ about 1hr later!

What gives? Surely this is a massive security issue. Accidentally miss out one letter from your email address and it ends up with someone else!!
Standard User uno
(experienced) Mon 04-Oct-10 18:42:38
Print Post

Re: Anybody with a @btconnect.com email - BE WARNED!


[re: kathburton] [link to this post]
 
In reply to a post by kathburton:
What gives? Surely this is a massive security issue. Accidentally miss out one letter from your email address and it ends up with someone else!!


Well, .co is a valid ccTLD now so it could be a valid address. It is possible that someone has registered btconnect.co, turned catch-all on and is trying to catch things like this.

It isn't a security issue, more human error and just shows that care should be taken when sending payments to an email address.

Matt

-
uno Broadband
t: 0808 221 8642
Official Maidenhead, Milton Keynes & Manchester Speedtest.net Host
Standard User kathburton
(newbie) Mon 04-Oct-10 19:07:54
Print Post

Re: Anybody with a @btconnect.com email - BE WARNED!


[re: uno] [link to this post]
 
Oh i see, I didn't know that. Still it's easier said than done when you have no control over what other people type!


Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User uno
(experienced) Mon 04-Oct-10 19:09:31
Print Post

Re: Anybody with a @btconnect.com email - BE WARNED!


[re: kathburton] [link to this post]
 
With PayPal, you could send the person that needs to pay you a "payment request" via PayPal.

You enter their details, email and amount and they simply get a request to pay that invoice by logging in to PayPal. If you entered the address wrong, no harm done as you'll just not get paid smile

Matt

-
uno Broadband
t: 0808 221 8642
Official Maidenhead, Milton Keynes & Manchester Speedtest.net Host
  Print Thread

Jump to