General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User deleted
(deleted) Fri 04-Apr-14 22:15:58
Print Post

master socket location

[link to this post]

My line was installed around 25 years ago and comes into loft from pole, from there it is joined by jelly connectors to internal cable and terminates at the nte5, there is around 70ft of internal cable with another join at top of stairs right above where the electric cables run under floorboards.

Since I have had FTTC installed I have been watching the line stats and every time a certain things like cooker, washing machine certain lights are switched on I see a spike of crc errors in my line stats.

Would there be any benefit if I got my master socket moved to reduce cable length and to remove the join that sits above power cables, don't want to pay the charges if there will be no real benefit

kenny
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Fri 04-Apr-14 22:37:48
Print Post

Re: master socket location

[re: deleted] [link to this post]

Installation by Kelly's or Quinn's subcontractors, rather than a BT Openreach engineer? With speeds well below the estimate?

My guess is a star-wired setup, with a junction box between the entry point and the NTE5, and extensions run from that junction box. That is death to FTTC, and not much better for ADSLx.

If you want to check, you should remove the NTE5 faceplate, though you can leave the VDSL2 interstitial filter module in place, then go round every extension socket in the house and see if a phone works plugged into it. If any does, I'm right. If none do, I'm wrong. Make sure you don't miss any, as even one is enough to screw things up.

My broadband basic info/help site - www.robertos.me.uk | Domains,site and mail hosting - Tsohost.
Connection - Plusnet UnLim Fibre (FTTC). Sync ~ 59.4/14.4Mbps @ 600m. - BQM

"Where talent is a dwarf, self-esteem is a giant." - Jean-Antoine Petit-Senn.